Even when no one is listening…

Don’t.

I’ve been laughing a lot lately. Laughing at myself; my old self. Twenty-two years is all I have on this planet. Barely twenty-two. Only a little over a week ago I was twenty-one. Now twenty-one feels so distant. Everything up till this point seems unreal. Sure it happened but all the purposes I have lined up to this point are unclear. I did not picture my life ending up where I am. Then again, my life always turns out drastically different from my plan. What the point of even making plans? Here’s my new theory: DON’T. Don’t make future plans. If you must, hold them lightly in your hand. Don’t budget your money for the uncertain. If you have to choose, choose to spend your money on helping others. Don’t get disappointed when your expectations are  not met. Don’t even have expectations. Don’t count on other people to bring you happiness. Never count on yourself either. If you can, count on Jesus. Don’t wait for things to happen. Don’t try to make things happen. Don’t wait for people to change. Don’t try to make people change. Don’t put your life on hold for anything. Your life is more valuable than that. There is no pressure. No one ever wakes up and says to themselves: “At last! I’ve finally arrived!” No, that would be ridiculous. Life is learning. Life is struggling. Life is making the best of circumstances. Slowly, we are allowed a glimpse of understanding the future but only in the form of the past. Look ahead excitedly. Eagerly live in the present. Meditate on what’s already passed. This is living. This is life.  This is now.

The slightly over dramatic girly optimist

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

