Even when no one is listening…

NaNoWriMo Day #14

What have I been up to? Four days of intense being a waitress, hostessing, dealing with drama, and paperwork. Some pretty stupid stuff happens in the restaurant world. I actually had a guy that wanted me to put his coffee in the microwave 45 seconds every time he got a refill. I could hardly touch the cup so I fairly certain that he was too old to have any taste buds left. Another lady demanded a sandwich “Hardee’s Style” then declared she didn’t want it because it would be over $2. Then when I made it for her on the house she gave me a $5 tip. That’s logical right? Hahah Oh, and not to mention the lady who called just to tell me that our coffee costs to much then rudely hung up before I could say a word. It’s a good thing I can laugh about this sort of thing. Being a waitress really does toughen you up. I mean I could handle my own before but now I can handle my own and hundreds of nasty people. For all of you out there who think waitresses are the bottom of the working world totem poll. Think again. We are a special breed. No denying it. We choose to be your waitress. We chose to deal with your crap. We chose to work hard for our money. But most importantly….we remember everything 😉
So what did I do with the rest of my week? Sunday I was absolutely lazy and actually did what ever I felt like doing. And today I prepared everything for Tuesday Classes, cleaned my room and made a killer easy supper. Somewhere in it all I found time for NaNoWriMo. Currently, I am up to 6,103 words. Which is still dreadfully behind schedule but not hopeless. For all you who didn’t participate. Shame on you.

-Slightly Over Dramatic Girly Optimist

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

