Even when no one is listening…

What Really Matters…

Three months ago I moved to an apartment in Columbia City. I soon realized, much to my embarrassment, that I had an unjustifiable amount of things. Things that I didn’t need. Things that needed taken care of. Things that were owning me instead of me owning them. So the process began. Friends helped me sort through piles and boxes. Slowly my emotional attachment lessened. The more “stuff” I rid myself of responsibility to the more freedom I gained. As I donated, sold or recycled it became clear that my true wealth was in my friendships. My support team was there for me physically, mentally and emotionally. They still are. And I am beyond grateful. In the past three months I have rid myself of 75% of my material possessions. I did not have the strength to do this alone. This is my public “thank you”.

Amy, Matthew and Ethan thank you for putting your personal lives on hold to support my choice to rid myself of the toxic lifestyle I had been living. Your patience during my less than shining moments speaks volumes to your character. I know you won’t take the credit which shows your Christ- Like humility. Your continued accountability in my life is a blessing and constant reminder that selflessness towards others is the highest good in life. Only that which is done in love will last. Thanks to you I understand that now.

Jenna, your patience amazes me. I am RIDICULOUS and you accept that without hesitation. Thank you for entering into this process with me by volunteering to sort through my obnoxious collection of books 😉 Your lifestyle alone is a constant motivator to rid myself of ties to my possessions. Thank you for your patience, understanding and sensitivity to my irrational emotional ties to the things I own. Because of your patience I have kept up a steady pace instead of becoming overwhelmed and giving up. Slow and steady really does win the race.

To those who gave of their time and self:Olivia, Sue, Dennis, Tala, Ira, Nancy, Aunt Rachel, Aunt Kris and countless others. Thank you for helping me haul boxes, sort boxes, move furniture, host a garage sale, countless trips to the Good Will donation box or simply just listening. To you it may have seemed insignificant but your support was always there when I needed it the most (still is!)

While moving was life changing by instigating the detoxification of ridding myself of  unnecessary material possessions; I soon realized that my mind was in need of a life change. Sure, I could get rid of a bunch of stuff but unless I change my perspective on life then I will revert back to my “old ways”. I not only need a life change I needed a mind change. Being surrounded by a support system of non-judgmental friends has been mind blowing. Several people come to mind but only a handful have entered into this journey with me at the deepest level possible by supporting my somewhat “radical” life change (okay, radical for me). I am grateful for the four people in my life that have accepted me where I am at while encouraging me to become better than I was yesterday. Amy, Jenna, Terry and Ben your support, honesty, patience and encouragement mean the world to me. Thank you for living out an example of patient selfless living towards others. You are my inspiration.   Thank you for challenging my mind in a way that challenges my lifestyle.  Words are not enough. I owe a debt I could never repay in this lifetime.

Rachel

Comments on: "What Really Matters…" (2)

  1. This was precisely the answers I’d been searching for. Amazing blog. Incredibly inspirational! Your posts are so helpful and detailed. The links you feature are also very useful too. Thanks a lot 🙂

  2. I’d have to go along with with you one this subject. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to speak my mind!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

