Even when no one is listening…

Who’s In Charge Here Anyway?

ImageIn the past two weeks there has been an influx of tracking on my blog. So too all of you avid readers, stalkers and/or mildly curious this post is for you. Thank you for listening…er….reading. Feel free to join the conversation.

It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it. – Aristotle

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Recently, I’ve learned a lot about authority.

If you had to make a list of the authorities in life it might look something like this:

  • Parents
  • Teachers
  • The President
  • The Government
  • The Judicial System
  • Pastors
  • Public Officers
  • God
  • Landlords
  • Coaches
  • And more…

Where does authority come from? There are a lot of opinions; most of which associate the origin of authority as coming from position, God’s will, power and/or wealth. I beg to differ. I believe authority comes from the truth. Too many problems arise from authority rising through force and ignorance. I refuse to follow orders just because someone “said so.” If you refuse to explain a directive then you are not worthy of my respect. True leaders know that they must earn the respect of their position. Even greater leaders do not need a position because they lead by influence. And influence is far more powerful than force. Force creates an environment of hate, resentment and fear. Influence creates an environment of love, hope and confidence.

My desire to be such a leader regardless of any position I may hold in life. By building relationships. earning trust, respecting others, leading by example, encouraging an attitude of love and selflessness, giving freedom to make mistakes and being personally involved in the lives of others.Positions come and go. Truth lives forever in the hearts of humanity.

I’ve seen too many positional leaders abuse their authority through force, arrogance and ignorance. Virtually, every positional authority in my life has disappointed me in life. Whether it be through manipulation, disrespect of my person-hood, irrational directives or hypocrisy. I’ve experienced it all one way or another. Nothing hurts deeper than being slapped in the face by someone you trusted as an authority. And nothing brings more joy than knowing someone is choosing to walk beside you in truth and love. I’m not speaking out of rebellion. I’m not speaking out of bitterness. Though I’ve been accused of both. No, rather, I am speaking from the unrelenting truth that…

“Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. “

Slightly Over Dramatic Girly Optimist

Comments on: "Who’s In Charge Here Anyway?" (1)

  1. […] friends, I am not that different from you. Yes, I got good and angry. Confused and bewildered. Hurt and abandoned. But all that chaos led me down the path of selfless love, holiness and […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

