Even when no one is listening…

Terminology

This chart represents various theological positions. Recently, I’ve received an overwhelming amount of feedback concerning my comments on religion. Through public comments and private messages/conversations several of you have asked me if I am an atheist. No, I am not. Before I state where I could be placed on this chart let’s take some time to define terms….

 

Theology: the study of religious faith, practice, and experience;especially : the study of God and of God’s relation to the world

Agnostic: a person who holds the view that any ultimate reality (as God) is unknown and probably unknowable; broadly : one who is not committed to believing in either the existence or thenonexistence of God or a god

Gnostic: Of, relating to, or possessing intellectual or spiritual knowledge.

Then there are two options in relation to a person’s belief:

Theist: Belief in the existence of a god or gods, especially belief in a personal God as creator and ruler of the world.

Atheist: One who disbelieves or denies the existence of God or gods.

Since we’re on the subject of definitions, I’d like to define three terms that I reference frequently throughout my blog.

Reason:  To think, understand, and form judgments by a process of logic.

Blind Faith: Firm belief in something for which there is no proof.

Faith: Something that is believed especially with strong conviction.

So where do you fit on the chart? Currently, I’d say that I am an agnostic theist. 

I believe there is something bigger than “us”. And like I’ve said time and time again, I am not comfortable calling it God without at least first qualifying what I mean by a term with such strong connotations. In my posts titled “This Thing Called God”  &  Why I Reject Religion I touch on this subject. The two posts are generally the same message. Though I will admit the first is more on the sugary coating side of things; while the second is a more clear cut brutally honest post.  I am an advocate for reason over blind faith. Though I recognize that often times we are not given the option of having answers through reason.  There are many things in this world that we cannot know for sure. A lot of uncertainty. Sometimes we do have to place trust in things and people without knowing “for sure” and that’s okay. When I have the opportunity to use my mind to reason yet choose to have blind faith instead; then I am insulting myself and the truth. That’s why I value reason over blind faith.

 

Slightly Over Dramatic Girly Optimist

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

