Even when no one is listening…

Hurt me with the Truth

“If you look for truth, you may find comfort in the end; if you look for comfort you will not get either comfort or truth only soft soap and wishful thinking to begin, and in the end, despair.”

 

I’ve always been an honest person. The truth just spurts from my lips before I even realize it. Even my emotions are an open book. My cheeks changing shade based on my current state of heart.

This would cause me many griefs growing up. My honesty wasn’t compatible with society.  Somethings were “better left unsaid.” Eventually I caught on to the social cues. Once I learned that the truth could offend, I was more careful in my usage.

Santa Clause is a beautiful example.

I was one of those strange children that never really believed in Santa. Due to my inquisitive nature, I had figured out the whole shebang by age five; and was skeptical even before then. My parents explained to me that it would be insensitive to ruin the facade for other children- so I did my best to keep quiet.

So what’s the difference between Santa and other potentially disappointing truths?

Surely, there are other times when it’s best to stay silent…but when and why? I am not sure.

Yet, I am strongly uncomfortable with the concept of “white lies” and “protective deception.” I’d much rather be hurt by the truth than comforted by a lie. Not everyone is like that. And if I go around broadcasting the truth just to piss people off then there is no argument that it wouldn’t be wrong. I think it boils down to motive. And that can be rather subjective. Should I be quiet just because the truth could be offensive?    Should I not say the truth because it could be uncomfortable? If that’s the case then we shouldn’t say anything at all.

Either we value the truth or we don’t.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

