Even when no one is listening…

ImageFound this intriguing little number at Good Will for fifty cents. Almost put it back on the shelf. Something made me want to flip through the pages in an effort to justify buying yet another book. So I did. 

It’s bad enough when you get fired from your dream job. But when you can’t make it as a waitress, there’s a whole world of self-worth you’re just never gonna see again.” 

That did it for me.

Normally, I would give my readers a brief synopsis. Not this time. Stupid and Contagious is purposefully vague. Drawing readers in through their own curiosity. Don’t believe me? Just check out the cover art. Giant yellow circles covering the stars of the story; leaving only the important details up to the reader’s imagination. Maybe this is how the author, Caprice Crane operates? I don’t know having never read any of her other work. That, however, is about to change.

In keeping with the style of the book; and in due respect for Crane allow me to tease your senses with a few of my favorite snip-its from the book….

“But after a while you stop shaving your legs, and he stops noticing, and it seems more practical to try to get a good night’s sleep.”  pg 2

“Someone once said, People come into your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. They forgot one other option: Some people come only to give us their contact information, let us know that we really need to get together sometime, and why don’t we give them a call?” pg 26

“I find something I like and eat it. A lot. It becomes my phase.” pg 62

” ‘Life is short! Who has time for all this?’ ‘Actually, that’s not true. Life is not short,’ I say. ‘Life happens to be the longest thing that you are ever going to do.’ And for once he is quiet.”  pg 73

“I don’t know what the hell she’s doing but she’s doing it , and that’s all that matters.” pg 89

“Ma’am (and when I say Ma’am, I mean ‘you stupid whore’)” pg 93

“Dude, I hate to say it, but you are one bad career move away from working at the Guitar Center.” pg 106

“Dating is like pushing your tray along in a cafeteria. Nothing looks good, but you know you have to pick something by the time you reach the cashier.” pg 111

“He looks over at me, and I nod at him. The nod is like an entire conversation.” pg179

Much Love,

Rachel ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

