Even when no one is listening…

The Mess

A mess
is in the making
secrets
intersecting
and I’m the one
who knows them all
If they could see
the whole picture
maybe
we could smooth it out?
But I’m sworn
to secrecy
with no one
to tell my side
guess I’ll just watch
watch it all happen
Like a mother
who’s warning
has not been heeded
I’ll stand in the background
foreseeing the coming heartache
purposefully powerless
to do a damn thing
Some lessons cannot
be learned
Some lessons must be
experienced
Besides,
I’m taking the brunt
of the pain
It’s true,
this is going to hurt me
more than it hurts you
I’d much rather
take the fall
Than watch you unravel
I am strong
Emotionally
I’ll hold this all together
Listening
to everyone else’s viewpoint
Offering advice
Smiling
because you need me to
Loving
from the sidelines
Believing
Praying
Hoping
That this mess
will somehow bring
growth
Even if we have to walk
through some thorns
to enjoy the harvest

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

