Even when no one is listening…

images (3)

This book is the reason I spent my day off crying profusely over the fates of fictional characters. When my friend Olivia handed me the book stating “Rachel, you HAVE to read this. It’s a cancer book. John Green is amazzzing. Oh, and don’t lose it because it’s a signed copy. You’re gonna looooove it!” I was skeptical to say the least. Cancer books have never been among my taste of literature. Those sort of stories usually rank pretty low due to their cheesy outlook and predictability; right along with all the horse, dog and cat literature. Painfully optimistic even for this girl.

The Fault In Our Stars, was anything but. The perfect concoction of tenderness and blunt reality. I fell into Green’s words nesting myself in between pages of witty dialogue and heartbreaking circumstances. One could almost say the purpose of the book is to break your heart. Cruel, yet gentle enough to leave one begging for more. This ‘cancer book’ is precisely what a ‘cancer book’ ought to be. Realistic. Harshly fair. Unapologetic. Perfect.

As is my custom, I will bid you ado with a few of my favorite quotes. Not my actual favorite quotes because those should be reserved for you to discover on the pages themselves; a delight I would not deny even my worst enemy. For your literary pallet to digest…

“It occurred to me why they call it eye contact.” 

” I felt like everything was rising up in me, like I was drowning in this weirdly painful joy, but I couldn’t say it back.” 

“We Hoosiers are excessively optimistic about summer.” 

“The world went on, as it does, without my full participation.” 

“The weird thing about houses is that they almost always look like nothing is happening inside of them, even though they contain most of our lives. I wondered if that was sort of the point of architecture.” 

“He was looking for the most hurtful ways to imagine to tell the truth, but of course I already knew the truth.” 

“You have a choice in this world , I believe, about how to tell sad stories, and we made the funny choice.” 

“I worked hard to meet his eyes, even though they were the kind of pretty that’s hard to look at.”

“It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

“And only now that I loved a grenade did I understand the foolishness of trying to save others from my own impending fragmentation.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

