Even when no one is listening…

images (4)Today I went on a walk with two of the most perfect women alive: Amara Gilraine and Olivia Gangwer. Then I spent my afternoon cooling off in my air conditioned apartment overlooking the courthouse while reading a delightful book by Jewel called “A  Night Without Armor” before heading into work for a few hours. Now I am enjoying an evening at home contemplating the beauty of Jewel’s poetry while waiting on the best friend to get off work.

Yes, I know my life is awesome. No worries dear reader, I am about to share some awesomeness with you. This little book was surprisingly awesome. A Half Price Books $1 find. Despite my skepticism, something was drawing me to the pages of this mysterious book. A month or two later, when I actually got around to reading it, I was awestruck by it’s beauty. Jewel’s poetry is raw, simply vivid,  emotional, breathtaking and tragically honest.

Following are three of her poems from this collection that spoke to me personally. If you like what you read then check out “A Night Without Armor” at your local library (remember to use the Evergreen System if you are a fellow Hoosier) or hunt the shelves of Half Price Books for a copy of your own.

 

~*~

So Just Kiss Me

So just kiss me and let my hair

messy itself in your fingers

tell me nothing needs to be done

no clocks need winding 

There is no bell without a voice

needing to borrow my own

instead, let me steady myself

in the arms

of a man who won’t ask me to be

what he needs, but lets me exist

as I am

a blonde flame

a hurricane

wrapped up

in a tiny body

that will come to his arms

like the safest harbor

for mending

The Inertia of a Lonely Heart

The world is full of cripples

and endless nights

and broken fruit

and calls that never come through

and restless dreams

that fear being awake

and stars that lose themselves

and waves that are always leaving

and bitten mouths

and lonely bars

and rosy nipples

rosy as dawn

rosy as the first blush of youth

and tired people

and lonely hearts

opening, orbiting

crashing into open mouths

and hungry eyes

and empty-handed lovers;

the inertia of loneliness

a miserable force

Shush

Can you imagine

how silent

a plane crash would be

if you were deaf?

How unbearably loud a rape? 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

