Even when no one is listening…

Superficial

I see right through

your bullshit

All the superficial

nonsense

That you honestly

think matters

Perky breasts

a pleasant smile

Symmetrical features

Thinly toned limbs

Photo-shopped abs

(but you don’t know that)

What about character?

You know

Things that last

Past age forty-five

What about love?

The beauty

of finding

a life mate

That’s what you have

in the body

of a curvy

non-proportional goddess

You refuse to acknowledge

because my B.M.I. says

I’m “over weight”

A layer of flab

is what stands

between us

How sad

Superficial

Empty

The ‘love’ you want

doesn’t exist

because

it

isn’t

love

That’s why

you are alone

That’s why

I’m your only friend

That’s why…

That’s why….

That’s why

we can’t be together

Even as friends

It’s your fault

this time

Not mine

How dare you

treat me like a project

a goddess in need of revision

I’m beautiful

the kind of beauty

that lasts

well beyond old age

and with death creeping

in every passing moment

I don’t see

how you can afford

to waste

one

more

moment

Seeking emptiness

Well you’ve found it

Hiding

deep within

the darkness

of

your

own

soul

a darkness

I constantly overlook

and love

despite all reason

I love you

you think

you love perfection

claiming

high standards

neck deep

in a pile of shit

you’ve formed

into a wall

protecting

what’s left

of

your

broken

heart.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

