Even when no one is listening…

Untitled

Oh my, has week two been ridiculously awesome or what?!

This study is literally changing my life; the way I view myself and others.

Tis’ beautiful 🙂

1. Pick a symbol that personifies the Chakra

Female Cobra

Female Cobra

Studying the Sacral Chakra has made me keenly aware of my relationship with pleasure. A well balanced relationship can bring great happiness, beauty and joy. An unbalanced relationship has the power to harm and even kill you. Blissful moderation is key. Just as a cobra may be tamed and their terrifying power enjoyed; such is one’s relationship to things that bring pleasure such as: alcohol, food, entertainment and sex.

2. Color the corresponding mandala 

The Sacral Mandala Colored in with reds, oranges and hints of yellow

The Sacral Mandala
Colored in with reds, oranges and hints of yellow

3. Research the  Yoga Poses that correlate with keeping the Chakra balanced

Cobra Sequence

Cobra Sequence

Monday was Yoga at Laughing Lotus with the lovely Tiffany Herron. Part of our practice that night consisted of the Cobra pose; which is helpful for opening up the Sacral Chakra. And yes, it’s harder than it looks but easier than you’d expect 😉 Best part is, I wasn’t aware of the connection until today!

4. Read the corresponding chapters of “Chakras for Beginners” 

download-1

Once again, BEAUTIFUL book.

Seriously.

You

should

check

this

out.

5. Choose a song that describes how you feel in relationship to the Chakra

“Counting Stars” by One Republic

The video even has a crocodile…which just so happens to be the animal spirit associated with the Sacral Chakra

“Everything that kills me make me feel alive….Everything that drowns me makes me wanna fly…”

6. Free Write/Read

So I altered this one a bit. Some things are better discovered through writing (the output of information) and others through reading (the input of information).

This week I finished “Faking It” . A deeply sensual story about finding oneself.

Faking-It-by-Elisa-Lorello1

Then I spent the rest of my week reading books that were in tune with sexuality, energy and pleasure.

1236826_10151541938746642_1475835587_n

Victoria & Amara gave me the hook up on these 😉 Thank you ladies

The Peabody Library had this one.

The Peabody Library had this one.

Needless to say, I’ve been rather consumed by my love for reading.

7. Come up with an activity that connects you to the Chakra

This week has been all about seeking my greatest joy. Living in the moment. And doing what I FEEL like doing.

1176216_10151532156901642_1775399937_n

So I went to Marshall, MI on Sunday with Victoria and Emily for the 50th Anniversary Historical Home Tour

1002868_10151532066996642_73768441_n

We had lots of fun on the drive there and back. Friendship IS fun.

1233324_10151541938676642_824046460_n

There was ANOTHER Art Festival going on as well (two in one weekend!!) where we mingled with fellow artists and of course I had to snag a couple of pieces to take home.

1186138_10151541938846642_1959065369_n

Including this inspirational journal from Paper and i

1186338_10151541478066642_147922924_n

I spent the rest of my week basking myself in orange clothing doing all the things I never make time to do.

Like: going for a drive in the country, eating chocolate, going for long walks, picking flowers, smelling books at Barnes and Noble, day dreaming, getting hot chocolate just for the sake of getting hot chocolate, spending time with friends, napping and being awesome in general.

Yes, this week has been the perfect kick start to my Fall.

Charkas_small

Tomorrow begins the third (yellow) Chakra – the Solar Plexus 

“I AM”

“I FEEL”

Now it’s time for “I DO”

Stay posted 🙂 

Rachel

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

